Home Page

School Council

All About Our School Council

At Heathlands, our pupils have an important role to play in issues that affect the children themselves. We value the opinions and suggestions made by pupils and encourage them to be active members of our school community.


The School Council is composed of two representatives from each class (Y1 to Y6). During September, children who would like to be on the School Council are encouraged to give reasons why they think they would be an effective Council member. They then share this with their classes. After this, each class then have a secret ballot to elect their representatives. All successful candidates are introduced to the whole school in our weekly Special Award Assembly. They are presented with School Council badges which they wear with pride.


School Council Members 2016 -2017


Class 1: Ryley Dobb / Jessica Wheatley

Class 2: Gracie Smith / Logan Fitzgerald

Class 3: Cerys Yemm / Louie Taylor

Class 4: Ryan Stoneley / Millie Beamish

Class 5: Yasmin Cater / Oliver Sewell

Class 6: Olivia Morley / Aimee Parbery


What Do We Do?

We meet every month to discuss issued raised by children in our classes. We also organise fun days and fundraising events.

We keep minutes of our meetings and each class has their own School Council book. We have a noticeboard in school, with our pictures on and with photographs and information about events we have organised.